2017 has already been a big year for Chaz French and it’s only going to get bigger. After inking a deal with Motown Records earlier this year, the DC talent is set to unleash what he’s been working on over the past few months. Next month Chaz will release his debut album True Colors and as part of his announcement he delivered a new single titled “Pops.”

Chaz explained the inspiration behind the song saying,

“D.C. was one of the hardest hit areas in America by the crack epidemic of the late ’80s and early ’90s,” French told Complex about the inspiration behind this particular song. “Our communities are still feeling the effects to this day. Mass incarceration and the drug abuse that happened during this time left many households without their fathers. My household was one of these. I couldn’t really fully understand why my dad wasn’t around for extended periods growing up, but now I get and I forgive. I also appreciate my dad for doing his best that he knew how.”

Take a listen to “Pops” above and pre-order True Colors, currently set for a July 14th release. The album will feature Shy Glizzy, Curren$y, Innanet James, Phil Ade, Casey Veggies, BJ The Chicago Kid, and others.

1. True Colors (Intro)
2. Way Out
3. Peace & Happiness
4. Start It Up ft. Casey Veggies
5. Somehow
6. So Are We ft. Innanet James & Phil Ade
7. Uncle Luke
8. Situation
9. Hol’ Up ft. Shy Glizzy
10. Let It Shine ft. Kenny Burns
11. Amerikkka ft. Eddie Vanz
12. Young World ft. Kevin Ross & Tony Lewis Jr
13. Pops ft Marco McInnis
14. Squad
15. Invite Only ft. Curren$y
16. Off Top
17. Thinnest Line ft. BJ The Chicago Kid & Saba Abraha​Abraha

Share This: